Leeds concert season

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective | Leeds International Chamber Season 2022/23: Expanding Horizons

Tue 25 Oct, 7:30pm

The Venue, Leeds ConservatoireVenue Name

Running Times: Approx 2 hours including interval

Tickets & Times

Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty
Main Info

Elena Urioste – violin
Melissa White – violin
Rosalind Ventris – viola
Laura van der Heijden – cello
Tom Poster – piano

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Piano Trio Listen
George Walker Lyric for Strings Listen
Florence Price Piano Quintet in A minor Listen
Antonín Dvořák Piano Quintet No 2, Op 81 Listen

This concert is one of six in the Leeds International Chamber Season 2022/23: Expanding Horizons. View the brochure. View the full series online.

The season opens with a selection of Kaleidoscope’s favourite works for strings and piano, in a programme with a North American focus. The English composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor wrote his exuberant Piano Trio while still a student at the Royal College of Music, but went on to achieve some of his greatest successes in America. George Walker’s beloved Lyric for Strings has been described as a sunnier counterpart to Barber’s Adagio, while Florence Price’s glorious music is finally beginning to achieve the recognition it deserves. Her Piano Quintet has proved a huge hit with audiences, effortlessly drawing influences from African-American spirituals and dance forms into a work still rooted in the great romantic tradition. Both Price and Coleridge-Taylor cited Dvořák as a primary influence, so it seems fitting to conclude with Dvořák’s radiant Piano Quintet.



Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty

Full price: A £25, B £23
Over 60s: A £23, B £21
Full-time students, unwaged: A £12.50, B £11.50
Under 26s: A £10, B £10

Tickets & Times

Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty

The Venue, Leeds Conservatoireveneu name