Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website. 

Accept & Continue
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Online subscriptions are now open for booking. Click here to book your subscription.

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Constantinos Carydis - conductor
Yulianna Avdeeva - piano

Skalkottas - Four Images
Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 Listen
Koukos - In Memoriam
Beethoven - Symphony No 7 Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Peter Whitfield.

“I am the new Bacchus, pressing out glorious wine for the human spirit!” Beethoven wasn’t known for his modesty – but until you’ve heard his seventh symphony you’ve never known just how intoxicating music can be. It’s the only way to end a concert that begins with Skalkottas’s riotous Greek wine festival, and which features the virtuosic Yulianna Avdeeva in Tchaikovsky’s barnstorming concerto.

Tchaikovsky’s ubiquitous and much-loved concerto was written at a time when the composer’s feelings were in even greater turmoil than usual. The heroic and typically Russian melodies of the Piano Concerto No 1 have made it one of the most popular concertos today. Instantly recognisable are the flourish and grandioso piano chords which accompany the opening melody.

The concert will be finished by approximately 9.30pm.



A £38.16, B £36.04, C £31.80, D £24.91,          
E £18.55, O £14.31 
Over 60s: £1.50 off
Under 18s/students/unwaged: 50% off
(including booking fees)

Tickets & Times

  • Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.