Leeds concert season

Manchester Collective – The Unfurrowed Field

Thu 7 Mar 2024, 7.45pm

Howard Assembly Room – Opera NorthVenue Name

Running Times: approx. 95 minutes (including interval)

Tickets & Times

Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty
Main Info

This concert is part of the Sound Out Leeds 2023/24 series.

Manchester Collective
Fergus McCreadie – piano
David Bowden – bass
Stephen Henderson – drums
Rakhi Singh – violin
Donald Grant – violin
Simone van der Giessen – viola
Christian Elliott – cello

Fergus McCreadie Selections from Forest Floor, Stream and new work (world premiere)
Donald Grant Thoir thusa nuas an rionnag sin (Bring you down that star) (world premiere)
Donald Grant NZ 2004
Trad. Airs
Christian Mason Selections from Tuvan and Sardinian Songbooks
Joseph Haydn Op 54 No 2, II: Adagio
György Kurtág Selections from Officium breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky
Anna Meredith Honeyed Words

Experience a joyful fusion of jazz and Scottish folk music in this unique show.

Mercury Prize-nominated pianist Fergus McCreadie and his spellbinding jazz trio join Manchester Collective’s string quartet for music that blends jazz, new classical, and folk. Scotsman Donald Grant arranges traditional folk tunes oozing with heart-warming and optimistic melodies for this unlikely band of players.

Prepare for a delightful mix of Fergus’ new compositions paired with classic folk tunes, promising an unforgettable and enjoyable musical celebration.

Join us for this fun-filled gig and let the party begin!

Presented in partnership with Opera North.

View all events in the Sound Out Leeds series.

Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty

Standard: £20
LeedsCard Extra: £18.50
Under 18s/pension credit/income support: £10

Please note you will be redirected to Leeds Ticket Hub to make your purchase.

Tickets & Times

Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty Empty

Howard Assembly Room – Opera Northveneu name