Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website. 

Accept & Continue
Manchester Camerata

Manchester Camerata

Online subscriptions are now open for booking. Click here to book your subscription.

Manchester Camerata
Gábor Takács-Nagy - conductor
István Várdai - cello

Bartók - Divertimento for Strings Listen
Haydn - Cello Concerto No 2 Listen
Mozart - Symphony No 39 Listen

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Brian Newbould.

The concert will be finished by approximately 9.15pm.

From the gypsy-inspired lively waltz of its opening movement, through its slow, sombre middle to the fiery Finale, Bartók’s Divertimento lifts the spirits of the listener and sweeps them through a
light and genial work.

Haydn’s Cello Concerto No 2 is a fine example of beautiful, agile and virtuosic writing for the cello during the Classical period when the violin was more often favoured as the dazzling solo instrument. The work is one of exquisite beauty and stunning passages of interplay between
orchestra and soloist.

Mozart’s Symphony No 39 is full of great power and passion, of love and sorrow. The
third movement is one of the composer’s most celebrated minuets, but the whole piece is operatic in scale and bursts with a thrilling energy.

Maestro Gábor Takács-Nagy and soloist István Várdai bring crystal clarity to this cello-centric programme that is sure to delight.


A £38.16, B £36.04, C £31.80, D £24.91,          
E £18.55, O £14.31 
Over 60s: £1.50 off
Under 18s/students/unwaged: 50% off
(including booking fees)

Tickets & Times

  • O Mozart, immortal Mozart, how many, how infinitely many inspiring suggestions of a finer, better life you have left in our souls!