Cookies - We use cookies to help improve your experience of using our website. 

Accept & Continue


Claire Osborne - violin
Cristina Ocaña Rosado - violin
Clare Gardiner​ - viola
Andy Fairley - cello

Arriaga – String Quartet No 1
Joaquín Turina – La oración del torero
Eduardo Toldrá - Vistas al Mar

Juan Cristostomo Jacobo Antonio de Arriaga y Balzola (1806-1826) was an incredibly talented Spanish-Basque composer who died at just twenty years of age. He is now called the ‘Spanish Mozart’ as he was just as much of a prodigy as his Austrian colleague half a century earlier. Arriaga’s Quartet in D Minor is a wonderful Schubertian musical landscape interwoven with Spanish melodies, dances and ethnic rhythmic elements.

Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) wrote La oración del torero, Op 34 (The bullfighters prayer) in 1925 for a quartet of ‘laúds’, the Spanish lute, a folkloric instrument similar to a mandolin. This composition catches the atmosphere in a bullfighting arena and depicts the contrast between the buzz in the arena, the expectation of the public and a quiet prayer of the bullfighter in a chapel nearby, preparing for the fight. In 1926 Turina arranged La oración del torero for string quartet.

The Catalan Eduardo Toldrá (1895-1962) was a composer, a violinist and a conductor. His composition Vistas al Mar is a set of three tone poems which takes you on an exciting journey of contrasts inspired by three evocative verses about the sea taken from a poem by Joan Magarall.



Free admission, no booking required.

Tickets & Times